Feb 15, 2021

The Pretty Reckless, Rob Zombie, Bodom after Midnight

Category: CD/Video Reviews


“Death By Rock & Roll”

 Heartache and bad times helped The Pretty Reckless write a timeless, memorable record simply titled “Death By Rock & Roll” which has been done for quite some time now but held back due to the worldwide pandemic which shut down everything.

 “Only Love Can Save Me Now” features Soundgarden members Matt Cameron (Drums) and Kim Thayil (guitar) and was recorded at London Bridge Studio in Seattle.  This marks the first time that Matt and Kim have recorded at that studio since the Soundgarden release “Louder Than Love”.

 Another special guest on the record is Tom Morello from Rage Against The Machine who plays guitar on the track “And So It Went”.

 Musically this record displays how The Pretty Reckless have grown as a band via endless touring and finding who they are as writers.  Taylor Momsen burst onto the scene while she was still underage and fresh from the world of acting.  Rock fans were on the fence initially but Taylor proved she is legit and earned respect from the rock community via strong performances, solid musicianship, and well written songs.

 Here’s a track by track breakdown of the new Pretty Reckless record.

 “Death By Rock & Roll” is the title track of this record and it’s received tons of radio airplay on active rock radio across the United States.  The song is an unapologetic, angsty romp from the mind and soul of Taylor Momsen and explains how the last 2 years of her life were.  A pandemic, the death of the bands longtime producer, and the death of Chris Cornell all shaped this song.

 “Only Love Can Save Me Now” is a little over 5 minutes in length and features 1/2 of Soundgarden.  This track is trippy, melancholy, and should definitely be a radio single.

 “And So It Went” - This track is currently tearing it up on rock radio and the guitar solo by Tom Morello features his trademark whammy pedal.  The Big chorus towards the end of the song is reminiscent of Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”.

 “25” - This rocker starts with a slow build and is one of the stand out tracks from this record.  Modern rock crossed with Classic Rock ethics make this one memorable.

 “My Bones” - Opening with a percussive intro this song is drum heavy and the guitars are secondary at times to Taylor’s voice and the percussions.

 “Got So High” - This one starts out with Taylor clearing her throat and leads into a mellow acoustic driven moment on the record which sounds slightly like Mazzy Star.

 “Broomsticks” - This track sounds like something off a movie soundtrack; it’s artsy, symphonic style adds a different flavor to this mostly hard rock record and this track leads into “Witches Burn”

 “Witches Burn” - Classic rock at it’s best with an occasional four letter word in the lyrics.

 “Standing At The Wall” - A tender, sweet, touching ballad that shows another side to what The Pretty Reckless do.  This one could easily be a cross over hit that top 40 radio would play because the band shed their hard rock roots in favor of rich vocals and symphonic instrumentation.  

 “Turning Gold” - Blues soaked, this track sounds like it could have been written by Melissa Etheridge in pieces due to it’s catchy chorus and anthemic pop nature.

 “Rock And Roll Heaven” - By the time you get to this track it’s obvious that the second half of this record is slower, mellow, and reflective on a rough time the band went through.

 “Harley Darling” - This country rock infused track closes the record on a very different note that it started.  This song reminds me of Bob Seger in parts and it’s a well written, superb track.

BODOM AFTER MIDNIGHT’s EP “Paint The Sky With Blood” will be released on April 23. 2021.  Bodom main man Alexi Laiho passed away earlier this year and left behind several unreleased tracks from his new project which will be released shortly.

 Bodom After Midnight’s surviving members stated:

“Like ourselves, Alexi was beyond stoked about these songs and anxious to get these out so we are happy that we can fulfill his wish. Needless to say that we are  honored and proud to be a part of his very last creative work and unleash it the way he wanted it to. It’s time to let the beast out of the cage one more time as a celebration of Alexi’s music, legacy and the man himself.”

The EP, Paint The Sky With Blood (out April 23 via Napalm Records), was recorded in Finland back in 2020 and was meant to be the beginning of an exciting new chapter. Sadly, that chapter ended far too soon, and now, the three-track piece embodies a whole new meaning. Paint The Sky With Blood is an overwhelming tribute to an outstanding artist and an exceptional sonic heritage – matchless late guitarist/vocalist Alexi Laiho – and at the same time, a modern homage to the genre itself.  

Paint The Sky With Blood Tracklisting:

01. Paint The Sky With Blood 

02. Payback’s A Bitch 

03. Where Dead Angels Lie (Dissection Cover) 

 Paint The Sky With Blood will be available in the following formats:

- 10" Spined Sleeve Oxblood

- 10" Spined Sleeve Inkspot Ox/Black

- 10" Spined Sleeve Black

- Deluxe Box

- 1 Digipak Mini CD

Digital Album


Alexi Laiho - guitar & vocals

Daniel Freyberg - guitar

Mitja Toivonen - bass

Waltteri Väyrynen - drums

ROB ZOMBIE has a new record hitting shelves on March 12th, 2021 via Nuclear Blast titled “The Eternal Struggles Of The Howling Man” off of The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy”
The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy Tracklist

1) Expanding the Head of Zed

2) The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)

3) The Ballad of Sleazy Rider

4) Hovering Over the Dull Earth

5) Shadow of the Cemetery Man

6) A Brief Static Hum and Then the Radio Blared

7) 18th Century Cannibals, Excitable Morlocks and a One-Way Ticket On the Ghost Train

8) The Eternal Struggles of the Howling Man

9) The Much Talked of Metamorphosis

10) The Satanic Rites of Blacula

11) Shower of Stones

12) Shake Your Ass-Smoke Your Grass

13) Boom-Boom-Boom

14) What You Gonna Do with That Gun Mama

15) Get Loose

16) The Serenity of Witches

17) Crow Killer Blues

Author: Bob Suehs