Jun 9, 2020

KISS, Anthrax, BPMD, Cro-Mags, Powerman 5000

Category: CD/Video Reviews




KISS Gene Simmons has a brand new Funko Pop Soda figure coming out in September, 2020.  There are randomly inserted Glow in The Dark chase figures and this product is limited to 12,500 pieces world wide.


BPMD - Featuring Bobby Blitz, Mike Portnoy, Mark Menghi and Phil Demmel

have released a Metal cover of the Grand Funk Railroad classic “We’re An American Band”.  The band's new record “American Made” is available June 12, 2020 via Napalm Records.  “American Made” features an interesting collection of covers:

American Made Tracklist:

1. Wang Dang Sweet Poontang (Ted Nugent)

2. Toys in the Attic (Aerosmith)

3. Evil (Cactus)

4. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers (ZZ Top)

5. Saturday Night Special (Lynyrd Skynyrd)

6. Tattoo Vampire (Blue Oyster Cult)

7. D.O.A. (Van Halen)

8. Walk Away (James Gang)

9. Never in My Life (Mountain)

10. We're an American Band (Grand Funk Railroad)


 Check out the latest single from Cro-Mags featuring Motorhead guitarist Phil Campbell entitled “From The Grave”.  Cro-Mags new record “In The Beginning” will be available on June 19, 2020.  

 Why it's called In The Beginning, as explained by Harley Flanagan.

 "In many ways it is a new beginning and also a tribute to where it all began.

 This is the first Cro-Mags album in 20 years after I had to go through major hell to secure what everyone knows was always my (bands) name. It cost a lot financially and emotionally, probably second only to the Misfits (to put it in hardcore punk terms financially), after which we secured not just one, but two record deals - one with Arising Empire In Europe and 2 with Victory Records/ Mission Two Entertainment for the rest of the world. Toward the end of 2019, Victory Records, founded by Tony Brummel, was sold and Cro-Mags moved from Victory to Mission Two Entertainment. Tony has often credited starting Victory Records after seeing the Cro-Mags play with Venom at Chicago's legendary Metro Club and now with his new label Mission Two, this truly is a new beginning; for him and for Cro-Mags.

 The front cover is a picture of the building I used to live in called 'C Squat,' which is where I wrote most of the music that wound up on the Age Of Quarrel demos; it was taken when I used to live there in the early 80's by Brooke Smith. The back cover is a recent picture of me, well the back of my head (taken by Laura Lee Flanagan), looking down at the site where that building once stood; so essentially, it's me looking at my past. The inside picture is of the front of the building in the early 80s (taken by Steve Butcher). It's pretty intense. You can't imagine what that place was like.

 This album has all my influences in it; everything from Bad Brains, Minor Threat, Black Sabbath, Motorhead to Pink Floyd, Hardcore, Metal, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Classical - you name it. It's all the ingredients that went into writing the old Cro-Mags songs and then some. It even has cellos and percussion and samples on it. I'm not afraid to break the so-called rules of hardcore, I never was; that's why our music stood out and always has. This is a culmination of everything I am as a person; it's my personal evolution; my musical evolution and all the things that have influenced me musically thus far. It is 100% Cro-Mags."





 The first single from the new album "The Noble Rot" (August 28) is a loving homage to ‘80s dark wave and comes with a hugely entertaining video featuring John Ennis of Mr. Show!




Album is Fully Re-Mastered with Refashioned Cover Art


"We put a lot of work into 'Persistence of Time.'  We pushed ourselves harder, self-analyzed, criticized,

and agonized more than any of the previous records, and we were really proud of it."  

  - Scott Ian, from the PoT Liner Notes


On August 21, 2020, 30 years to the day after its initial launch, thrash/metal-masters Anthrax will celebrate with the release of the deluxe anniversary edition of their fifth studio album, the Gold-certified Persistence of Time, produced by Anthrax and Mark Dodson  (Megaforce).  Available exclusively on disc and vinyl, the CD package will include two CDs and one DVD, the vinyl edition offers four LPs, as well as revised cover art that reflects what had been the  album's original visual concept.

Persistence of Time/Deluxe 30th Anniversary Edition Vinyl Track Listing:


Side A

Time  (Remastered)

Blood  (Remastered)

Keep It In The Family  (Remastered)


Side B

In My World  (Remastered)

Gridlock  (Remastered)

Intro to Reality  (Remastered

Belly of the Beast  (Remastered)


Side C

Got The Time  (Remastered)

H8 Red  (Remastered)

One Man Stands  (Remastered)

Discharge  (Remastered)


Side D

I'm The Man  (The Illest Version Ever)

Time  (Live at The Palace of Auburn Hills)

Got The Time  (Pre Production)


Side E

In My World  (Pre Production - Scott Guide Vocal)

H8 Red  (Rehearsal Room/Charlie's, Riff Tape/Pre-Production)

Discharge  (Charlie's Riff Tape/Rehearsal Room/Pre-Production)


Side F

Keep In In The Family  (Rehearsal Room/Scott Guide Vocal)

Blood  (Rehearsal Room/Pre-Production)


Side G

Intro to Reality  (Pre-Production)

Belly Of The Beast  (Tracking)

Gridlock  (Tracking)


Side H

One Man Stands  (Pre-Production)

Time  (Pre-Production, Scott Guide Vocal)


Author: Bob Suehs